Home MMA News Meerschaert vs. Waldon for MW title, Barcelos to defend FW title against...

Meerschaert vs. Waldon for MW title, Barcelos to defend FW title against Moret at RFA 45

RFA 45

RFA 45Resurrection Fighting Alliance may have only two more live events before completing the merger with Legacy FC to become LFA but the remaining shows continue to be significant.  Case in point RFA 45 this weekend features a battle for the vacant middleweight title as Gerald Meerschaert III faces Chase Waldon while in the co-main event featherweight champion Raoni Barcelos defends the belt against Dan Moret.  RFA 45 takes place October 28th at the Mystic Lake Hotel Casino in Mystic Lake, MN with a main card broadcast on AXS TV.

In the archives is a recent interview with Gerald Meerschaert III talking about his thoughts on this fight.  Meerschaert enters this bout 23-8 with only one loss in his past nine fights stretching back over six years.  Most recently Meerschaert defeated Valor Fights champion Sidney Wheeler in a non-title fight, a bout Meerschaert won via submission at 1:22 of the first round.

Gerald Meerschaert III

Gerald Meerschaert III

10-1 Waldon holds nine wins in a row including wins in LFC over Nick Wagner and Justin Winkels, his most recent bout being a win over Austen Heidlage in RFA.

It was at RFA 29 that Raoni Barcelos won the featherweight title with a unanimous decision over Ricky Musgrave.  Since then Barcelos defended the belt against Bobby Moffett also by unanimous decision at RFA 39 making this his second title defense.  Barcelos’ only loss in his 10-1 career came by rear-naked choke from Mark Dickman at RFA 14 in April 2014 while in RFA the champ also holds wins over Tyler Toner and Jamal Parks.

Raoni Barcelos

Raoni Barcelos

11-2 Dan Moret fought six times in RFA going 4-2 with losses to Luke Sanders and Bobby Moffett to go with wins over Jordan Griffin, Jay Ellis, Mike Plazola, Josh Wick, and most recently Alex Gilpin.

Fight card

  • Antonio Sanchez vs. Mitch White
  • Logan Storley vs. Antlone Dobson
  • Bobby Lee vs. Damion Shehan
  • Jordan Larson vs. Ben Neumann
  • Chad Curry vs. Frank Schuman
  • FW title: Raoni Barcelos vs. Dan Moret
  • MW title: Gerald Meerschaert vs. Chase Waldon


Source link